The Good, the Bad and the Ugly 2013

Awards time again

The Good…..

Plenty of decent veg this year, broad beans – Longfellow, runner beans – stenner, french beans – cobra, cabbage – ramco, carrots – sweet candle, parsnips – picador, brussels – wellington, courgettes – venus, shallots – hative de niort etc but the award goes to TOMATOES SUNGOLD - I had 12 plants (8 in the greenhouse and 4 outside) which fruited their socks off from the end of June right through until early November. We picked about two kitchen cullander fulls of the orange cherries every week and the family loved them! So sweet it beats the supermarket hands down.

001

The Bad………

Thankfully not much in this category but the CUCUMBERS CARMEN were awful for me this year (again) so I need to rethink. After a promising start with half a dozen huge cukes they failed around the end of July turned yellow and only produced again briefly in September. I know this variety can be amazing and have had 30+ cucumbers per plant off it before so it’s all my fault. Back to the drawing board.

The Ugly………

Scab

Has to be POTATOES. Scab, scab and more scab. With the dry end of June/July I obviously didn’t keep up with the watering. Thankfully this doesn’t affect the eating but they do look seriously ugly!!

10 responses to “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly 2013

  1. Onward and upward Damo! Good luck in 2014

  2. Ugly is fine as long as the eating is good!

  3. I have grown Sungold toms for the past two years, and the yield has been fine, as has the flavour, but I found the skins to be unpleasantly tough. What am I doing wrong?

    • I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong Mark, probably just down to personal taste. I like them and the children were eating them like sweets, we didn’t really notice the skins. Fortunately there are so many varieties to try we can all find our favourites!

  4. I’ve only grown Sungold once and I wasn’t impressed but I’ve heard so many people rave about them. Perhaps I should give them another go. Good luck with your cucumbers this year, I had a great mini cucumber crop last year, I’m hoping to repeat it this year.

  5. Oh it sounds like a fab year, don’t be worried about the things that didn’t go to plan (nature has her own plan) and enjoy the challenge ahead :)

Leave a Reply

