Pest Control

There are a couple of main methods I deploy to keep pests at bay on the plot.

024

The first is Environmesh which I use to cover brassicas such as cabbage, cauliflowers and brussel sprouts. It can be made into tunnels as I have done here or can just be draped over canes and weighted down at the sides. Whilst it’s not that much of a necessity at this time of year it is essential from July to September to ward off cabbage white butterflies from laying there eggs unless you are picking them off by hand daily or spraying with insecticide which I don’t like to do. I’m still vigilant in case one has got in somehow and will pick off any caterpillars as soon as they emerge and deposit them on the bird table.

025

I’m using a couple of sprays this year which are organic / biodegradable. The first is Garlic Wonder, an organic garlic concentrate marketed as the natural solution for healthy vigorous plants. The other is SB Plant Invigorator, marketed as an environmentally friendly growth stimulant and pesticide. I use Garlic Wonder every 2 weeks as a foliar spray on my carrots to ward off carrot fly as they are not covered. Time will tell if this has been effective. SB Invigorator is used in the greenhouse, again as a foliar spray every couple of weeks, particularly if I see any aphids or whitefly in there. It will also control spider mite and mealybug according to the label.

What forms of pest control do you use?

But the main pest I can’t seem to control is a neighbourhood cat which must visit early in the morning and attempt to dig up one of the beds – at the moment it’s the leek bed that I’ve just planted out. I’ve sprayed a cat repellent around but this hasn’t worked. Any ideas?

Don’t forget Open Farm Sunday tomorrow. You’ll find local farms are opening their doors and there’ll be plenty of events on up and down the country. I’ll be at our local community farm – River Bourne Community Farm – in Salisbury between 10am and 4pm. Looks like the weather is set fair for the day so why not pay a visit?

And finally a few photos of flowers in bloom in the garden at the moment. Have a good weekend everyone!

7 responses to “Pest Control

  1. We use butterfly netting on brassicas, bird netting on fruit so pollinators can get in, enviromesh on carrots and are trying a home made garlic spray,

  2. Netting is my main form of pest control. Try putting orange peel in the bed which is being dug up, cats don’t like the smell, or try pepper, they don’t like that either.

  3. Perhaps yu need to use the Lion dung stuff to deter the cats! However, i think the only way to keep cats off is to erect a physical barrier – maybe some chicken wire on a wooden frame?
    My precautions are much the same as yours. At present the main enemy is slugs and snails. I use the blue pellets because I haven’t found anything else that really works.

    • I was just planning a trip to Longleat then but thankfully it’s available on-line. Thanks Mark. Seems expensive at £9 for 500g but then I may only need a few pellets on the one or two bare areas of soil I have from time to time. Worth a try I think.

      I haven’t found any other way of keeping slugs at bay than the blue pellets – I’ve been using an organic version recently which seems to work OK. Longer term all my paths around the beds will be gravel which I’m hoping will help keep them off.

Leave a Reply

