It’s been a while & carrots

I can’t believe it’s been 6 weeks since my last post, where has the time gone! Almost 3 weeks was taken up by a wonderful holiday to the south of France near Beziers which we really enjoyed. The last couple of weeks have been catching up on the plot and getting ready for my first show which is the NVS south-west regional district association show at Corsley near Warminster on Bank Holiday Monday. So this week I’m tying up my shallots, the potatoes are drying out under cover and I have my fingers crossed that the long and short carrots will be good!

In the meantime we’ve been eating loads of veg straight from the garden. There’s enough potatoes to last us until next summer, great green beans much of which we managed to freeze before going away, tomatoes, peppers, chillies, cucumber, courgettes and beetroot. The cucumbers and courgettes suffered whilst we were away and I’m trying to revive them but there’s plenty to take their place.

One thing I’m particularly pleased with is the carrots. I grow sweet candle for showing and use the same variety for my “normal” carrots which is just a few rows sown in a bed and thinned down a few weeks after sowing. They were unprotected and I sprayed with Garlic Wonder although this was fine at the start I soon forgot to spray and they haven’t had any since early June. So it was with some trepidation that I started pulling them and although there is a bit of fly damage I’m really pleased with the results. I’ve pulled about thirty now and about half a dozen have signs of fly damage and only two that have needed parts of the carrot cut away – most are perfectly fine after peeling. So I’m going to continue with this approach next year and try to remember to spray regularly! The carrots are a great size and taste wonderful.

011

My next post will be after the show, wish me luck!

4 responses to “It’s been a while & carrots

  1. Best of luck Damo

  2. Hope you do well in the show! I envy you the 3-week holiday in France. Did you have any good food???

  3. Thanks Mark. The food was lovely – fresh pastries from the village bakery every morning is something we don’t do here at all. Lazy lunches with soft cheese, pate etc was our staple fare with the odd glass of wine or two!

Leave a Reply

