Brrr it’s freezing!

It’s been below freezing all week (since I planted the garlic, shallots and onions last weeked) so not the weather to be spending much time on the veg plot. Just an hour to dig out the compost bin and harvest a few veggies.

I paid £4 for one of those black council compost bins, it’s done the job over the last 12 months and produced a pretty well rotted compost. But I need more capacity so I’m getting some old pallets off a friend up the road and will be constructing my own ‘fast compost’ method shortly. More of that to come.

Today is not the day for such projects, odd jobs only and then back into the warmth. I finally got round to putting some plastic bottles over the lettuce (winter density) so hoping these will come on now. The parsnips and sprouts are still going, reckon we’ll have another 2 or 3 meals out of them. Then it’s just a waiting game for the PSB and that’s it from the plot of 2009.

Checked over the mesh tunnels that I made in the summer and they are all in good order. They did a great job keeping the cabbage whites and pigeons off the brassicas. Pretty easy to make as well, just three sections of water pipe with a wooden frame around, then covered with enviromesh and stapled to the frame, as you can see in the photo. Six foot long which is the width of my raised beds. They are lightweight enough to lift off and on the beds when needed for weeding and the enviromesh allows water through.

I have some cauliflower and onion seedlings that I germinated indoors and the pricked out and put in the greenhouse. I insulated the greenhouse with bubblewrap and this is just about stopping it freezing. They seem to be doing OK.

Now Saints vs Pompey live on TV, I don’t need to think long about that, back indoors!

3 responses to “Brrr it’s freezing!

  1. Hi Damo, Thanks for visiting my blog, so glad you did as I have now popped over to yours and it’s a great blog, full of good info on growing and sowing and you look like you have had a lot of success. Has your PSB made it through this freezing weather ? I think mine may put out some new sprouting stems if the weather get a bit warmer.

    • Hi thanks very much. The PSB looks a bit ‘scraggy’ if that’s a word? But there’s plenty of shoots coming off the main stems. I think you’re right if we get a mild spell it should come back to life. It will be the first time I’ve ever harvested any so can’t wait. Fingers crossed! All the best for 2010.

  2. Hi Damo
    Just trying to see if this comment goes through, as the other one I left didn’t appear here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

