Spring Show……The results are in!

Today was the Winterslow & District Horticultural Society’s Spring Show and the local village hall was full of flowers and other exhibits. I couldn’t go last year and this year the entries are significantly down so I can only imagine what it would be like on a good year.

I managed to get one entry in, 5 daffodils (3 varieties), but now I’ve seen the categories I could have entered 3 or 4 more classes. I won 2nd prize! Rach entered a Victoria sponge, although had a bit of a disaster with the edge of one half breaking away slightly but she managed to patch it up and also won a 2nd prize! That will go down nicely later with a cup of tea! So not bad considering we weren’t going to enter anything just before the deadline.

My daffodil varieties were St. Keverne, Ice Follies, and an unknown variety I planted a couple of years ago.

Entries were 50% down this year due to the harsh winter putting the spring flowers back so far.

First and second prize in the flowering shrub went to a Mahonia Japonica (should have entered mine!).

Nice collections of spring flowers.

The baking section.

This flower arrangement won a first prize in the “arrangement for Easter” class.

This arrangement took second prize.

This arrangement won the “fun without flowers” class.

Last, but not least, were the children’s entries, decorated eggs, welly boots, Easter hats and bunnies!

I’ll definitely be trying some more classes next year and can’t wait for the summer show now as I did really well last year.

First though I’ve got my sights on the Salisbury Community showin early July. The schedule is out now so if you live around Salisbury why not give it a go? See you there!

5 responses to “Spring Show……The results are in!

  1. Well done to you and Rach. The show is fun although I have seen some over-the-top serious competitors at our local show. Thanks for showing the pictures too, it is nice to see a show on the other side of the world.

  2. Thanks Tracy, yes I know what you mean about over-the-top. Some people need a bit of perspective!

  3. Congratulations on your second. My daffodils are only just poking up out of the soil, it will be a while yet before they’re in flower. Congratulations to Rach too, the cake looks yummy.

    • the cake was yummy thanks Jo, it didn’t last long. Only just made it for the show as 50% of my daffs still weren’t out on the day, that’s why there wasn’t the entries this year which was a shame.

  4. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

