At last!!

Well 12 months after it was sown the very late purple sprouting broccoli has finally born fruit. Was it worth waiting for? I would say yes for two reasons, great flavour and it’s come in at a time when there is nothing else coming off the plot. I thought 12 months effort was worth a couple of photos. And I’ve warned Rach that with half a dozen plants PSB will feature heavily on our dinner menu for a while!

What a glorious weekend it was. Here’s my little helper watering the daffs for me. We had friends round on Saturday night who are vegetarian and I cooked the starter, stuffed Romano peppers with baby plum tomatoes, mozarella, puy lentils and basil, and the main of butternut squash, goats cheese and spinach rissotto (both Waitrose recipe cards). Rach weighed in with a James Martin Sticky Toffee Pudding, not very Italian but very, very yummy indeed! On Sunday we had our first BBQ of the season and spent ages chilling out in the garden which was perfect. Hope you all enjoyed the weekend whatever you got up to.

14 responses to “At last!!

  1. A great way to spend your weekend. . .

    We’re living on sprouting broccoli too. It has to be one of my favourites.

  2. The PSB is well worth the time and effort – I just wish I’d spent more time covering mine up last year :>( Lost the lot to the pigeons. Had loads to year before and the taste is amazing, definitely trying again this year. With more netting.

    • Hi Rob, I know what you mean I lost my 1st year’s crop to a combination of caterpillars and pigeons, so last year I netted all the brassica’s and kept a close watch on progress and it worked.

  3. I haven’t grown psb before, but I’m giving it a go this year. As you say, it’s good to have a harvest at this time of year. Chloe looks like she will be following in her dad’s footsteps.

    • I admit Jo I’ve been cursing it’s slowness for many weeks but now it’s arrived I realise that it’s worth the wait and what else are we harvesting at this time of year just after the worst winter in recent memory?

  4. Or PSB is just starting but not enough to crop yet! It’s really late this year.

  5. Yep, it’s worth waiting for! Finally

  6. Just picked and eaten our first PSB harvest – YES!!!!

  7. We ate it until we could eat no more last year and was happy to see it go. One week later we all craved another hit of this magnificent vegetable.

    Now its back on the menu and its loved by all.

Leave a Reply

