So much to do!

Now is the time of year when everything on the plot comes to a head. The weeds are growing, space in the greenhouse is at a premium, plants need hardening off, watering if it’s hot, keeping an eye on the cold nights still to come, successional sowing, potting on, the list is endless. So whilst I’m indoors keeping an eye on the girls whilst Rach is out I thought I’d take stock of where I am and what needs to be done this weekend.

The large bed is full up. The front half is potatoes, Charlotte, Anya and Desiree. Then cauliflowers and calabrese, broad beans and, at the back, the purple sprounting brocolli plants which will be replaced with runner and french beans eventually.

The shallots and onions are doing well. Some of the garlic didn’t come up so I’ve filled in the gaps with onions that I grew from seed.

The front garden bed gets full sun most of the day. Strawberry plants line the edge and are in full flower. There’s some raspberry canes at the back and I’ve planted gladioli all along the house wall. There’s also a gooseberry and balckcurrant (I will be getting a couple more of these to put in). This will also be the courgette and squash bed, there’s one courgette already in and it’s protected at night by the water cooler bottle.

In the middle bed the spring cabbages are coming on, I planted them out quite late so they are not as big as I’d hoped yet and I desperately need the space for other plants that are in the greenhouse.

I’ve not been very successful with carrots so this year I’m growing some in containers, these are Amsterdam Forcing.

The purple sprouting is in full flow now, eating it pretty much every night.

The lettuce are coming on well, there’s a mixture of Artic King, Winter Density and Little Gem here. I’ve also sown salad bowl, lollo rosso and red deer’s tongue.

The greenhouse is full to bursting point as always!

The next crop of brassica seedlings and lettuce are coming through. I’ve not sown direct as I don’t have the space at the momemt. At the back are some more sweet peas and various pots with the mixed salad leafs from the BBC DigIn packets coming through. To the right are pansies ‘Joker’ that I’ve grown from seed.

The squash and tomatoes are coming on nicely.

It’s the first time I’ve grown Red Orach, they are ready to plant out now.

The chilli and peppers need potting on too.

And finally the dahlia tubers I put in pots have sprouted.

There is so much to do, here’s my list, I’m sure I’ve missed something!

1. Plant out / pot on courgettes and squash.
2. Pot on brassica seedlings (space not available yet).
3. Move beans into bigger pots until space becomes free on plot.
4. Tie up sweet peas and plant out remainder.
5. Pot on greenhouse tomatoes into final bottomless pots which will go on top of the gravel bed.
6. Plant cucumbers in their final spaces in the greenhouse.
7. Plant more gladioli bulbs.
8. Plant out unsprouted dahlia tubers.
9. Harden off and plant out rest of bedding plants that have been growing on in the greenhouse.
10. Mow lawns and tidy up edges.
11. Weed everywhere.
12. Sow successional radish, lettuce and beetroot.
13. See what is surplus to requirements for the Horticultural Society plant sale on May 22nd.
14. Pot on chilli and sweet peppers.
15. Plant out Red Orach.
16. See what containers are available and what I can plant in them to save space.
17. Get last of salad potatoes into compost bags.

Hope you all have a great Bank Holiday weekend whatever you’re doing and we get some sunshine in between the showers.

12 responses to “So much to do!

  1. It really is hectic isn’t it – but you forgot
    18. Pause for breath and have a cup of coffee

  2. Ah yes Sue just doing that now actually! 17 is my lucky number though so I thought it’d be a good place to stop.

  3. There is so much to do isn’t there. It is so easy to fall behind at this time of year if you miss something.

  4. Everything’s looking great. It is so busy at this time of year, it can get overwhelming.

  5. Pingback: First salad crop « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  6. I’m impressed!
    I’ve had to take a day off work next week not to nurture my family but to nurture the allotment.
    Hope I manage to get as much done as you did.

    • I know it’s crazy at this time of year. A list is the only way I can focus the mind, 10 or 15 minutes writing down all the jobs saves me hours later and stops distractions.

  7. I’m really impressed and just reading this, and looking at the terrific photos, shows just what can be done as it all looks great.
    I’m rather glad that I don’t do lists as I’m sure that it would as long as yours which would frighten me somewhat! Cheers.

  8. OMG – you are so busy!!! It all looks so lush and fantastic! lets hope you keep the watering up some the summer (something I am RUBBISH at!) – wowzer – you have inspired me to get growing some more stuff!

    • Thanks very much, I didn’t think I’d already be watering in April but it’s been pretty dry. It’s one of those chores that you just have to get on with, like mowing the lawn which I hate!

Leave a Reply

