Bloomin’ Marvellous

I thought I’d take a few photos of all the lovely flowers in bloom in the garden and give you an update on veg progress.


The Iris that I got hold of through Freecycle last year is now in flower, I’m really pleased as I put it in a narrow space that runs alongside the beech hedge and it has flourished.


I love this yellow rose which is by the front door. I moved it a couple of years ago and it was in a bit of a state. Now there’s nearly 30 flower buds on it which is fantastic.


Just above the rose bush is a hanging basket with pansies in full bloom.


The first sweet pea flower isn’t far away.


Even the veg are getting in on the act, here the broad beans are blooming and the caulies are filling out nicely.


The Spring Cabbage aren’t far off harvesting now.


It’s the first time I’ve grown Calabrese and they are coming on well. The girls are going to love devouring the green florets when the appear.


I almost can’t wait for winter to taste the sprouts.


The front garden bed is now fully planted with courgette and squash. The gladioli along the wall of the house are starting to show. We should get dozens of strawberries and raspberries as well, I must get the netting organised to keep the birds off them!


It’s the first time I’ve grown this lettuce, Red Deers Tongue.


I took a gamble on this sweetcorn planting it out over a month ago, now it’s come through the plastic bottle cloche, so fingers crossed it was worth the risk. It’s the first time I’ve grown sweetcorn so we’ll see how it goes.

The onion bed looks a lot tidier now, I’m hoping that the ‘visitor’ doesn’t return, I lost 8 onions to the burrowing but I’m hoping the rest settle down and fatten up over the summer.

Finally I don’t know about you but I’ve been watching the Chelsea Flower Show in awe of what these people can achieve. It was great to see Medwyn win the President’s Award at Chelsea, how does he do it? Amazing veg display! One day I’ll get there!!!

12 responses to “Bloomin’ Marvellous

  1. It’s all coming on really well. I agree with you about Medwyn Williams’ display at Chelsea, everything looks so perfect. Freecycle is great, I love the iris.

    • Hi Jo, we’ve got loads of stuff on Freecycle, my Dad has just serviced a petrol strimmer that I got off there a while ago which will make tidying the edges around the garden a bit easier.

  2. We have iris buds – no flowers yet but the strange thing is we seem to have just one flower stalk per clump of leaves (rather large clumps at that) – any tips to get more flowers?

  3. What a bloomin’ marvellous post! I love yellow roses so really like that photo.
    It seems to be a good year for Iris, my plot neighbour Joe grows them and he has masses of yellow ones in flower.
    Much as I appreciate Medwyn’s vegetable display I do wonder if they taste as wonderful as they look! Cheers.

    • I know what you mean, what it lacks in size, uniformity and presentation our veg will make up for in character and flavour!! Looking forward to more flowers on the Iris and roses.

  4. I am envious of your brassica leaves! Not a spot, blemish or hole in sight. I battle with all sorts of critters for their whole lives.

  5. your photos are brill
    i am green with envy, your garden is so productive.
    do you have a separate plot or do you grow your veg at home?

  6. Pingback: First Sweetcorn! « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  7. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

