Heads Up

The brassicas are coming on well. Here’s a couple of photos of the developing heads on my calabrese and cauliflowers. The girls are going to love eating these in a few weeks.

Elsewhere on the plot the parsnips are coming on well.

And I’ve thinned some of the shallots to three bulbs in the hope of getting some nice specimens for the Summer Show.

8 responses to “Heads Up

  1. It’s all looking very impressive. I’ve failed miserably with my brassicas yet again. I’m going to have to buy plug plants again.

  2. I’m impressed, especially with the cauliflower and I hope that it tastes as good as it looks, which I’m sure it will!

  3. Hope you do well in the show Damo. I’ll settle for lots of stuff to eat whether it is ugly or not!

  4. Hi Damo, thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment.Your veg is of the envy inducing type! Our brassicas even though out early enough have not put on anything like the growth yours have.We have 2 cauliflower left out of 6 thanks to the cabbage root fly! The calabrese is setting florets Ok but they are golf ball size at the moment.
    I like the blog set up with other outdoor activities in the posts, some lovely views.
    I will be visiting again

    • Hi Peggy, thanks for your comments and sorry to hear the dreaded root fly has visited you. I did collar most of mine so fingers crossed no signs of concern yet. Best of luck for the coming season and hopefully a bumper harvest!

Leave a Reply

