Pre-Holiday Rush!

This time next week we’ll be in France so today is all about getting the jobs done so when we get back in early July the garden won’t have run away with itself too much!

The Sweet Peas are going mad after the rain we’ve had and I’m cutting most of them to induce more flowers. They look pretty on the windowsill and give off a lovely scent.

First job was weeding the new bed that I built earlier in the year. From front to back there are cabbages, early white and late purple sprouting broccoli, celery, sweetcorn, squash, beetroot, brussel sprouts and pumpkins. It’s all looking pretty good so fingers crossed we’ll have a bumper harvest from this bed. It’s the first time I’ve grown corn, celery or pumpkins.

I’m really pleased with the corn.

The other tender veg are coming on as well. Here’s the first courgette. This one’s from 3-year old seed and appears to be a bombproof variety – the packet just says Zucchini – and it’s been a reliable cropper.

I’ve also got some yellow courgettes showing, these are F1 Orelia, again pretty reliable although I had more trouble germinating these. The other variety I’m growing is Black Beauty from the BBC DigIn free seeds.

And the first squash has appeared, this is old seed again, it just says mixed scalloped squash on the packet. But it hasn’t failed me in 3 years. I normally pick them quite small and roast them in the oven with courgettes etc but I leave the odd one to grow on, one of which won 1st prize in the Any Other Veg category in our summer show so you can see how big they get!

We have two mature cherry trees in the garden and I noticed some fruit, I think this is the first time in the 3 years we’ve been here that they’ve survived the woodpigeon onslaught. So we may be picking cherries in a few weeks.

And we’ve been picking strawberries for a week or so now, not that I can get anywhere near them, the girls are wolfing them down. It’s great to see them loving the home grown fruit and veg as it’s the main reason I started the plot just before Chloe was born.

We’re having a barby later so I picked a selection of salad. There’s lettuce (Winter Density, Salad Bowl and Red Deer’s Tongue), Wild Rocket and Radish. This afternoon I’ll mow the lawn, then it’s a couple of bottles of Black Sheep and Come on England!!

Tomorrow we’re off to the River Bourne Community Farm Open Day in Laverstock, Salisbury. Should be a fun day with loads to do for the girls, and nice for me to have a day off from the jobs too!

7 responses to “Pre-Holiday Rush!

  1. You have sweet peas. I am so envious. Mine are only 3 inches tall.

  2. Hi thanks yes they are doing really well, 2-3 feet tall and producing loads of flowers. Once they get established they seem to shoot up so I’m sure yours will be catching up soon.

  3. My sweet peas are like Mangocheeks ones.

    Are you netting your brassicas? – One time when we came back from France in August the cabbage white caterpillars had devastated ours so we use insect netting now!

    I hope you enjoy France we often stay in a gite in the wilds of France

    • Hi Sue yes we can’t wait to get on holiday. All brassicas are netted I learnt a hard lesson in the first year returning to a scene more akin to a war zone than a veg plot!

  4. Well done, I’m really impressed at how good it’s all looking!
    I ate my first strawberry yesterday which was good but really needed just one more day of sunshine.

  5. Pingback: First Sweetcorn! « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

