Dahlia update and More Veg

The Dahlia’s are getting quite big now, really filling out, and I am just about keeping up with the disbudding on the main plants. It’s strangely satisfying and hopefully I’ll be rewarded with bigger and better blooms shortly. I’ve got 16 plants from tubers, about 2/3rds have now shown their first flowers, and eight plants grown from seed. See my previous posts here and here for more Dahlia photos.

This one is Kennemerand, a real striking yellow flower.

Next is Shooting Star, a more subtle cream colour.

This one isn’t a named variety but has a pretty orangey ball shaped flower.

And here’s the pink version.

This one is Kenora grown in a container.

And finally a lovely Dahlia flower grown from the seeds that Maureen gave me. She has some fantastic Dahlia photos on her blog.

On the veg front things are going well with courgettes and squash in abundance, I’m giving some away as we have loads. The beans are getting into their stride now and I’m managing to pick a good handful of runners and french beans every other day now.

In the greenhouse I’m growing quite a few peppers this year. Fingers crossed I may be able to have green, red, yellow and orange peppers all at the same time if it comes off.

As it’s the first time I’ve tried to grow Aubergines I’m pleased that the fruits are forming nicely, they should fatten up in the next few weeks.

This is my favourite chilli variety, Cayenne, will eventually turn a deep red colour and is quite hot and perfect for cooking from fresh or for drying.

Hope you are having a great weekend. Please look out for a free giveaway/competition I’m running which will be coming up in the next day or so, I have loads of seeds to give away and all you will have to do is leave a comment. So look out for my next post.

Harvesting: Lettuce, Rocket, Cucumber, Tomatoes, Chillies, Courgette, Squash, Potatoes, Broad, French & Runner beans, Chard and Carrots.

10 responses to “Dahlia update and More Veg

  1. I like the third dahlia! I picked my first runners and French beans today, along with yet more courgettes!
    I’ll be looking out for your next post with interest. Cheers!

    • Thanks Flighty they are the smaller ball form Dahlia, not as in-your-face as the bigger blooms. It’s great when the beans come in, such a staple and dependable crop. We are having to think up of new ways to cook courgettes we have that many!

  2. You’ve done it again – no dahlia flowers yet!!! Our peppers are tiny too!But we have picked French beans and courgettes today.

  3. Damo, fantastic dahlias and all the veg looks so good, isn’t it rewarding being a gardener and veg grower ? I would love to know more about the Dahlia thingy in September can you give me the details please.

    If My father was still alive he would have been so pleased that I love dahlia’s so much as they were his favorite too, bizarrely I didn’t like them then as they always had the dreaded earwigs in them, but i have only ever found a few in mine.

    • I’ve seen 1 or 2 earwigs and I’m planning to collect them when the plants really get going so they don’t invade the flowers. Being relatively new to gardening it’s fantastically rewarding particularly when the girls are eating the veg straight from the plot.

      I’ve checked my local Horticultural Society yearbook and the trip is not in there this year. It is a working nursery (Gilberts) open to the public from end of July to October. There’s a tea room as well so sounds like they are geared up for visitors. I’ll speak to the secretary as they normally arrange for a guided tour which would be really interesting. It may still be on, I will let you know.

      Their address is:
      Gilbert’s Nursery & Dahlia Fields

      Dandy’s Ford Lane

      Sherfield English

      Romsey Hampshire

      So51 7DT

      Here’s to many weeks of beautiful flowers and wonderful veg to come!

  4. Pingback: What’s next? « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  5. Pingback: Pre-Show Checks « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  6. Pingback: A Labour of Love « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  7. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

