Curry of the Week

As part of my blog diversification over the winter months here’s a new feature…..curry of the week. Combining two of my favourite things, cooking and curries. So a nice easy one to start with, about half an hour from start to finish, 10 minutes prep and 20 minutes cooking time. From one of my curry recipe books “100 Best Balti Curries, Authentic Dishes from the Baltihouses” by Diane Lowe and Mike Davidson (Pavillion Books 1994) which evokes memories of my student days at Wolverhampton Poly and the odd trip to the Sparkbrook area of Birmingham, the Balti Belt!

Chick Pea and Mushroom Bhuna Balti – serves 4 (or 2 large helpings) and is medium spiced. And you don’t have to have a Nigella-sized larder cupboard to have these ingredients about your kitchen!

1 large can of chick peas (drain but keep the liquid)
6 oz button mushrooms, sliced
6 tbsp vegetable oil ( I normally put in half this and use olive oil)
2 onions, chopped
1 fresh chilli, chopped
3 tomatoes, roughly chopped
Spices – 1 tsp curry powder, 1tsp turmeric powder, 1/2tsp ground coriander, 1/2tsp garam masala
Salt to taste
Chopped coriander and a little extra garam masala for garnish

Heat the oil in a wok on a moderate heat and fry the onions until they are starting to brown. Add the tomatoes and chilli for about 3 minutes until they are starting to soften and then add the chick peas, reserved liquid and spices. Bring to the boil then simmer for 5 minutes. Add the mushrooms, salt to taste and cook for a further two minutes or so. Then serve in a bowl with Naan bread (or with rice, whatever you prefer). Garnish with coriander and garam masala.

Enjoy!

11 responses to “Curry of the Week

  1. Oh, what a lovely feature. I shall certainly be checking back to look at your recipes. I love them but most of the family have not been so keen but are now coming round to my way of thinking, so will be looking for lots of lovely recipes.

    And dahlias? Lovely, although I don’t do any of the things that you do to yours so I think they are one of the easiest flowers to grow! But then, I am a rather lazy gardener…

    • Hi Deb, it’s not easy converting your entire family but your perseverence is paying off. Rach liked the curry but she won’t go any hotter really which is were we part company as I like my curry to have a real kick to it but I’ve been eating them for 20 years!

      I suppose I do go into the Dahlia growing a little bit more than you need to although having read the lengths the top exhibitors go to I don’t have the patience for that. I’ll settle for somewhere in the middle, although now we’re into Autumn I’ve let them go a bit!

  2. Great feature, I’m looking forward to trying this out. Rach might like to try a dollop of yoghurt on hers , I find it mellows the hot spices.

    • Hi Is, I like this curry as it’s an easy one to make after a day at work. I’ll have to get the yoghurt and lassi out for Rach as the next one will be a bit spicier!

  3. I shall look forward to your regular curry feature. Any ideas for two fussy children who run a mile at the suggestion of anything with spices??

    • That’s a hard one Mark, our two have been used to home prepared food since they were weaned which had herbs and the odd spice – when we tried to introduce the odd jar for convenience they wouldn’t touch it, I think it’s because they are so bland. And when I look at the nursery menu board I’m often salivating at the choice, like moroccan lamb, chilli con carne etc so I think they’re already exposed to a good selection of spices. I suppose it’s the little and often approach, ours just eat what we eat within reason although not the hotter curries just yet!

  4. This looks like a nice easy recipe. Unfortunately, curry is something I never make as there’s only me who will eat it. We use a takeaway who do curries and other things so I always make sure I have my curry fix then.

  5. Pingback: Curry of the Week #2 « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  6. Pingback: Greenhouse Glory « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  7. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

