Foraging Guide Book Giveaway Competition

With Autumn now well and truly underway we’ve taken our first tentative steps into the world of foraging. To celebrate this new pastime I’ve got one of the classic guide books to give away. “Food for Free” by Richard Mabey, an illustrated guide to over 100 edible plants, berries, mushrooms, seaweed and shellfish, was first published in 1972 and is probably the best known guide book in its field. And the great thing is it’s pocket-sized, easy to take with you when you’re out and about.

All you have to do is leave a comment on this post, my daughter Chloe will draw a winner in a couple of weeks time, and I’ll post it out. Totally free, as simple as that. I look forward to hearing from you!

45 responses to “Foraging Guide Book Giveaway Competition

  1. Count me in, I love foraging!!! 😀

  2. I love to pick blackberries, sloes and rosehips in the autumn, as well as violets in the spring. Would love to know what else is edible!

  3. I’d love to win that! I’ve just moved to a new state and have been eyeing the berries that grow along my road. I’m not 100% sure what they are, but this book would prove helpful! 🙂

  4. I just like the idea of getting it for free! Pick me, Chloe!

  5. I never know what can be eaten and what can’t so this book would prove very useful. Handy too as it’s small enough to carry around.

  6. I’d love to go mushroom foraging, but not going to be something I do without someone who knows what they’re doing! I have loads of rosehips on one of the plots I must look through my books to see what to do with them, and I’m still hunting for a supply of sloes – like mushrooms these things tend to be a closely guarded secret!

  7. You are starting to be a one man competition organiser Damo – maybe you need to take it up professionally 😀

  8. Sounds like a brill book, count me in! 🙂

  9. Hi Rob, yes mushrooms is a bit risky, I need to find a local expert. We’ve got plenty of sloes though around and about, I need to get out and pick some.

  10. I need this – I don’t want to poison myself.

  11. This sounds like just the thing, I managed to forage some damsens and some blackberries but I have no idea how to identify a sloe…!

    Thanks for another great giveaway!

  12. Actually those damsens look more like damsons…;)

  13. I love foraging and risked my life to eat some wild mushrooms picked from the nearby park. Thankfully I am still here! Don’t try it at home for those who are reading this 🙂

    I got told off by my mon and had to throw away remaining mushrooms. What else to pick except blackberry? I would love to learn from this good book. Chole, pick me !: )

  14. Hi Damian, count me in as I feel on a lucky roll now, ha ha
    I don’t even know what sloes look like so I think I need that book !
    Have a great week.

  15. I’d love this book – I’ve already got a couple of wild food books but they’re both A4 size so not exactly practical for taking out and about. This would be perfect for that – and like a good web citizen, I’d blog about all my findings 🙂

  16. Count me in please as my copy went walkabout years ago and has never returned!

  17. Seems like this is the book that we are looking for to accompany us in our hiking weekends. Nice share!

  18. My husband and I started learning about wild foods through a book called “Edible and Useful Plants of California” and would love to expand our knowledge through this book (esp. since we don’t live in California anymore)! Please add my name to the hat! Thanks!

  19. Hi Damo, What a wonderful idea. Lots of people mention this book, and I’d love to have a copy. Might have helped with our mushroom near-miss the other weekend too 🙂 Would be great to find some new things to forage beside the ones we know about.

  20. OOh I was just going to ask about this on a forum.. In the soon to be veg plot field I has discovered blackberries, crab apples, some random mushrooms, cobb nuts, haw berries, rose hips and sloes. No idea what to do with them mind!!!

    take care
    Jenny

  21. Hiya
    Count me in please,we`ve some lovely country walk round here, I fancy going out Book in hand to see what I can find.
    Niece

  22. I’m going on a “Fungus Foray” this weekend — I wish I had a copy of the Food For Free book already!

  23. Brittany LaGambina

    Hello, please count me in 🙂 Thanks!

  24. Hi Damo and Chloe,
    Wow, lots of people after the book but here goes – we run a children’s growing project and as well as cooking the veg we grow we have used things like rosehips to make cough syrup, nettles to make soup and collect blackberries and sloes, but we would really love to have a copy of this book so we can try even more hedgerow food! You can see the Lottie project on the website above. Lots of children would benefit. Hope we get picked!
    ps came to your site from UK veg growers

    • Hi Sarah, that sounds like fun Chloe would love that! I’ll take a look at the site and best of luck at the draw which will be next weekend.

  25. I would love to own a book about edible plants, especially a pocket-sized one that can be easily carried with me on my walks! I am always learning what I can about the flowers, trees and other plants near my home, but I know little about their edible properties. Please count me in, if it’s not too late. Thanks!

  26. Ashamed to admit that I’m rubbish at identifying plants in the wild – saw some rosehips on the heath today and just thought about stringing them into Christmas decorations! It would be great to be able to identify more than just blackberries! Would love to be added to your draw, thanks x

    • Hi Carolyn, I know what you mean, we should all no more about our natural environment but are so far removed from it these days. Best of luck in the draw.

  27. Oooh! Pick me, pick me! 😀 I’m obsessed with the idea of foraging, but the only thing I can currently identify is a raspberry… mostly. Having grown up in the city and just recently moved to a place with loads of forests, I’m dying to go exploring and see what I can find! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

