Greenhouse Glory

It’s been a miserable start to Autumn, not much sun around, but the greenhouse keeps producing a bounty of wonderful colours.

The tomatoes are still ripening, there’s around 30 more left on the plants. The peppers are now coming good, these orange ones are Etiuda, along with Cayenne and Scotch Bonnet chillies.

The Californian Wonder are starting to turn red at last.

And my solitary Scotch Bonnet, bought as a tiny plant from B&Q for 21p in the spring, is still going strong. I’ve been learning about the heat of these chillies which is measured on the Scoville Scale. Up until now I’ve grown Cayenne which register between 30,000 and 50,000 on the scale whereas Scotch Bonnet are between 100,000 and 325,000, not ones to try raw then! Good for homemade curries though!

Don’t forget my Foraging Free Giveaway Competition, just leave a comment to be included in the draw.

9 responses to “Greenhouse Glory

  1. Yum! Isn’t it great to get these colour boosts just as the days close in and the weather gets lousy? I grew some very prolific but but very tastless chillies this year, I’m not sure they would even register on the scale, so Scotch Bonnet for me next year…

  2. Rather you than me with the Scotch Bonnet, I’m not a chili lover really, certainly not the hot ones. I love my greenhouse, it’s only 4X6 but better than nothing.

  3. Thank goodness for some cheering colour like this on these gray days!

  4. Scotch Bonnet, eh? They’ll lift the top of your head off! I’ve got a couple of Jalapeno plants in the greenhouse and about 15 on each of them. Still green though; not sure they’re going to ripen but I hope so.

  5. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

