Curry of the Week #3

Last week was my favourite Beef Madras.  This week is curry as true comfort food, again from the Queen of Curry Madhur Jaffrey from her 2001 book “Foolproof Indian Cookery” (BBC).   Keema Matar (Minced lamb with peas) – very easy to make and medium spiced, great as a nice quick curry, all in all about an hour to prepare and cook.

Serves 4

4 tbsps of olive oil

1 onion, finely chopped

2 tsp crushed garlic

1 tbsp grated fresh root ginger

1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

200g (7oz) chopped tomatoes

4 tbsp plain yoghurt

550g (1 1/4lb) minced lamb

1 tsp salt, or to taste

250 ml (8fl oz) water

2 tbsps lemon juice

150g (5oz) fresh or frozen peas

1.  Heat the oil in a wok or similar pan, add the onion, ginger and garlic and cook until lightly browned.  Add the spices and cook for a further 10 seconds.

2.  Add the tomatoes and yoghurt and cook for 2 minutes then add the minced lamb and salt.  Stir for 2 minutes breaking up any lumps then add the water and bring to a simmer, cover, turn the heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes.  (I skim off the excess oil after this stage).

3. Add the lemon juice and peas, cover and simmer for a further 10 minutes.  Serve with rice and/or breads.

Enjoy!

Don’t forget if you want a chance of winning a free foraging guide book leave a comment on this post before Saturday.

6 responses to “Curry of the Week #3

  1. Thanks for a great recipe its sounds yum will try it out next week cheers Sue

  2. Hi Sue, I like it, it’s one that I come back to regularly.

  3. I’ve gone off Indian curries recently. I just find them too greasy. mind you, I am a bastard for South East Asian curries, especially Burmese ones. Indonesian curries are good too. I need to do some chilli training because I’m off to Sri Lanka after Christmas and their curries are allegedly Christ-on-a-bike hot!

    • I’ve only visited India, Thailand and Indonesia and loved all the food, saying that I love all food wherever it’s from. I know what you mean about the oil, I tend to cut down the amount quoted and stick to olive oil. Good luck with your chilli training, I’ve yet to pluck up the courage to taste my Scotch Bonnet peppers!

  4. That’s another one which looks delicious. I’m feeling very hungry now.

Leave a Reply

