The Trail So Far

Regular readers of this blog will know that I love hill walking. There’s nothing better than getting away from it all up in the hills. Unfortunately South Wiltshire isn’t blessed with mountains and rugged scenery, I like the rolling chalk downlands but it’s not really a challenge.

A friend and I vowed to complete the Pennine Way, Britain’s number 1 National Trail, 270 miles long stretching from Edale, in Derbyshire’s Peak District National Park, to Kirk Yetholm just over the Scottish border.

Over on my Pennine Way page is the story so far. Time being precious, and the birth of my two children, means this mission has been stretched over quite a few years now. We slowly creep ever further North, one long weekend at a time.

I’ve loved the walk so far and here’s my top 3 sections that you can do as day walks:

Malham to Horton-in-Ribblesdale – limestone country, Malham Cove, and the views from the top of Pen-Y-Ghent are superb.
Middleton-in-Teesdale to Dufton – classic waterfalls of High Force and Cauldron Snout plus the sublime beauty of High Cup Nick.
Dufton to Garrigill or Alston – the peaks of Knock Fell, Great Dun Fell and Cross Fell are a challenge in this high-level Pennine Way stretch.

I hope to finish it in the next couple of years. Still to come is Hadrian’s Wall and the Cheviot Hills, can’t wait to get back out there!

11 responses to “The Trail So Far

  1. You’ll see some fantastic scenery on your travels.

  2. Hi Jo, there’s great scenery all along the way.

  3. I also like to get out onto the hills. Unfortunately hills are somewhat lacking here in the Lincolnshire Fens!

  4. another hiking and gardener.not been out much this year since the birth of my first daughter and achilles tendonitis.roll on next year

  5. Looks lovely! Do you ever see folks running the Pennine Way, or is it too steep??

    • Yes you do see the odd fell runner. I think they’re mad personally my ankles wouldn’t take it but then they seem to be a lot more wily and agile then I am!

  6. I love that Middleton-in-Teesdale section. I grew up in the next dale up, Weardale, but my parents spent their early married life in Teesdale and I think their hearts were always there really.

    • Beautiful section, Middleton to Dufton was probably my favourite day so far, the waterfalls of High Force and Cauldron Snout and then a trudge across bleak moorland before the beautiful High Cup Nick is revealed, superb!

  7. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

