Last of the Peppers

The time has finally come to harvest the last of the greenhouse peppers as the foliage is starting to die back.

We’ve been dining on peppers for a while, had around 30 in total, and they’ve gone into various recipes like spag bol for the girls or this nice stuffed pepper recipe.

But what could be more fitting them putting them in a veggie curry especially now I’ve just restocked the spice cupboard. Here’s a quick and easy recipe:

3 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion finely chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 small piece of fresh ginger chopped
8 oz Veg
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp garam masala
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 tsp paprika
3 tomatoes chopped
600 ml water
Salt to taste

1) Fry the onions in the oil until golden brown. Then add the ginger and garlic and fry for another minute.
2) Add all the spices and fry for a further minute. Add 200ml of the water and cook for 10 minutes. Then add the tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes.
3) Salt to taste, add your veg, the rest of the water and cook until done. Garnish with coriander and serve with rice and/or breads.

Enjoy!

10 responses to “Last of the Peppers

  1. They look lovely! I wish I’d tried growing peppers again after the fiasco last year. Mine never ripened and got nibbled by something and were finished off by something that looked like blight. 😦

  2. You’ve done really well with your peppers. I’ve got three waiting to be eaten, two which have eventually ripened to red and one which has subbornly stayed green. I’m definitely going to grow more plants next year.

    • Hi Jo, one of mine has stayed green but had some lovely ones this years which is suprising as the sun hasn’t been great in the last couple of months.

  3. Nice looking peppers. I’d do a bit of Mexican with them, if I had any!

  4. What variety of pepper have you got there? I tried two years in a row to grow bell peppers, each time FAILING miserably (once due to greenfly, once due to neglecting to repot them). I also LOVE curries. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Being vegetarian, curries offer a lot of variety, which is a luxury. We also have the occasional Mexican night. Highly recommend it.

    Just been looking through your recipe ingredients and I think I might add some Paprika to our butternut squash curry recipe trials (will be blogging about this soon). I bought some spices in bulk a few days ago and have been experimenting, and there’s just a few tweaks left. I think paprika may be one of them!

  5. Hi Lucy, you can’t beat paprika for curries, it has a real depth of flavour. I am a curry addict too, and you’re right, curries are mainly vegetarian. I went to a Hindu wedding a few years ago and it was all vegetarian curries and they were gorgeous, I was in heaven!

    There’s 3 varieties of peppers – the orange ones are Etuida (I think that’s spelt right) which I think is an Eastern European variety so suits our colder climate. The red is Californian Wonder which I have had some huge peppers off and I’m not sure what the yellow variety is (fallen foul of poor labelling again!). I’m definitely growing more next year, they take a long time to ripen but certainly brighten up Autumn!

    Good luck with the trials I shall check out your post.

  6. Pingback: Curry of the Week #4 « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

  7. Pingback: Looking Back……. « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a Reply

