Off Piste

The majority of my online reading is gardening related, well it’s my main hobby really. But from time to time I go off piste and here’s some of my favourites that keep me going back for more:

Charting the ever-downward spiral of British society is the Police Inspector Blog. Uncomfortable at times but always thought provoking and downright honest it’s on my weekly list to check out.

On the other side of the spectrum “Shit my Dad says” just makes me laugh out loud. One liners a couple of times a month from Father to Son such as “See, you think I give a shit. Wrong. In fact, while you talk, I’m thinking; How can I give less of shit? That’s why I look interested.” Brilliant.

A few years ago my main hobby was fishing so I am a big fan of Caught by the River. Yes there are posts about rivers and fishing but it’s much more than that, an ecclectic mix of nature, music and beer amongst other things. This article sums it up very well.

If you want a collection of the weird and wacky from stateside then Pun Intended may be for you. I don’t always understand what these guys are on about but I enjoyed their Halloween posts.

And finally one simple truth is we’re all getting older and will inevitably start moaning about the younger generation at some point, if we’re not already! This guy has stolen the march, I particulary enjoyed this post.

So this winter I’ll mostly be reading your gardening and veg growing posts with occassional trips out to see what the rest of the world is talking about!

6 responses to “Off Piste

  1. I find that one blog or website can take me on a trail to another and before I know it, time has run away from me. There’s so much to read on the internet, I don’t know how we managed without it.

    • I know what you mean it’s odd for anyone who remembers life before email, the internet and mobile phones, I don’t know how I’d get a days work done without email for example. I get a bit lost surfing from site to site but I have my favourites that I always come back to.

  2. I’ve always enjoyed well written, entertaining and informative blogs so I’ll take a look at these later on! Cheers.

  3. ‘Shit my Dad says’ is a fave in this house too 😉 I am finding that I tend to come to my usual garden blogs and catch up on your lives and then go to arty places for my real relaxation and inspiration. I guess it’s maybe because we haven’t got a garden as yet…. hugs

    • Some of those one-liners are hilarious! I’m sure your garden will be wonderful when it’s finished. I’m the opposite I go for gritty realism, I think that’s why I read the Police Inspector blog regularly. But I can forget it all in the garden I suppose.

Leave a Reply

