Curry of the Week #4

It’s been 3 weeks since my last curry recipe and I’ve started to get severe withdrawal symptoms. So here’s tonight’s curry, lamb curry (andhra style) from Camellia Panjabi’s book “50 Great Curries of India”. This is a great curry recipe book packed full of information.

The Andhra style of cooking is the hottest in India but the yoghurt in this recipe balances the spices nicely.

150 ml full-fat yoghurt
2 1/2 tsp garlic puree
2 1/2 tsp ginger puree
2 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
2 tbsps chopped coriander
1 1/2lb stewing lamb
3 tbsp oil
2 onions finely chopped
3 tomatoes finely chopped
6 green cardomoms
4 cloves
1/2 tsp caraway seeds
10-12 curry leaves

1) Mix the yogurt, garlic, ginger, chilli, turmeric and coriander leaves and add to meat, leave to marinate for 2-4 hrs. I left mine in the fridge overnight.
2) Fry the onions in the oil until brown, add the cardomoms and cloves and fry for 1 minute.
3) Add the meat and marinade and cook on low until the marinade is absorbed (10 mins) then turn the heat up and fry the meat stirring for 5 minutes.
4) Add the tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes until the liquid is absorbed then fry the meat again stirring for 5 minutes.
5) Add the caraway seeds, curry leaves and salt to taste. Stir well then add a pint of hot water. Cover and cook on a low heat until the meat is tender. Then uncover and boil off the excess liquid until you have the consistency of gravy you like.

Garnish with coriander and serve with rice. Delicious!

An update on the Firsdown Bus Fire last week which was front page news in the weekly Salisbury Journal published today. Credit to Mr Trudgill who acted so quickly and got his children and others off the bus in the nick of time. One of Rachel’s photos appeared in the Journal. There’s a few videos of the incident on You Tube now, quite shocking how quickly the bus burnt out.

10 responses to “Curry of the Week #4

  1. Oh I absolutely LOVE lamb curry. I think we might need some in the next day or two 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

    • No problem Lucy I know what you mean I get cravings for lamb curry, it is my favourite. This one would be even better for a day or two maturing in the fridge, I’m looking forward to the leftovers at the weekend!

  2. I love curry too as does Martyn but he seems to have a reluctance to let me use coriander!

  3. I love lamb curry, if only my hubby felt the same.

  4. That looks gorgeous, and since we have a bit of a curry thing going at the moment, will have to give it a go!

  5. Dear Damo, I know this post is a little old, but I hope you get this. Do a blog on a chicken curry mate.. Go on. I hope you and the family are all well.

    • Hi Rob good to hear from you hope you are well. The curry posts have slackened off a bit but I will do a chicken curry update soon!! Must catch up sometime. Damo

Leave a Reply

