Sunday Morning

Sunday mornings remind me of the Lou Reed song and they should always be lazy Sunday mornings in my opinion, well as lazy as they can be with two young children!

Saying that today Rach was busy making bread this morning which was delicious. There’s been a resurgence in home backing over the last few years, we’ve seen bread making on TV series like Hugh FW for example. As I mentioned in a recent post I am now on the Horticultural Society Committee and one of our tasks this week is to decide the 5 categories in the cookery section for next year’s Summer Show. So let me know if you have any ideas!

And isn’t this time of year great for garden birds? I’ve replenished the bird table just outside the kitchen window and spent 10 minutes or so scanning the garden for activity. I couldn’t believe how many birds there were. Blue and Great Tits lay siege to the Mahonia Japonica, they were practically buzzing in and out of it whilst a pair Blackbirds and a Robin picked over the leaf litter. There were lots of visitors to the table as well including a greenfinch and chaffinch and of course the ever-present Woodpigeons were stripping the honeysuckle which is all over the back fence. Last of all a Jackdaw popped on to the veg patch briefly to have a peck at something. It was great to see so many birds and has spurred me on to get more feeders up and a water bath sorted out.

I recently took part in a poll on the nation’s favourite river. Well the results are in and the Wye has been voted the favourite. No wonder it certainly is a picturesque river although I do feel sorry for some of the others such as Thames and Mersey that have to do battle with a more urban landscape and have been cleaned up enormously in the last two decades.

Hope you’re all having a lovely Sunday!

10 responses to “Sunday Morning

  1. I recommend sending the children away for the night for the best lazy Sunday mornings, although I wasn’t at my brightest this morning so probably just as well they weren’t here ;>)

    Re the categories for the cooking we had ‘best cake with a vegetable ingredient’ for our ‘show’ – but then we don’t take ourselves too seriously when it comes to competitions! We did have some good entries though.

    Living in a city with see very few birds in our small garden, despite the well-stocked bird table. But I was pleased to see a robin in the garden yesterday, nothing else though :>(

    • Hi Rob I know what you mean although a very infrequent treat for us, we normally have to go away for the weekend.

      I like the cake idea, I’ll suggest it at the next meeting.

      We’re lucky in a small village as the garden is full of birds particularly if you have some food out at this time of year. I was hoping to see one of these exotic migrants blown off course but no luck yet!

  2. As a Glaswegian, I have a deep and abiding love of the Clyde. Funny that even in the 21st century, we still feel these things so strongly.

    • That’s a good thing I think that we have these ties and feeling despite the 21st century. For me it’s the Avon below Salisbury where I caught my first fish. And then moving on to one of its side streams just below a fish farm, the trout tasted good!

  3. Lazy Sunday mornings are something from the past at the moment. We’re out at dog training for 9am on a Sunday at the moment. I quite enjoy it though as it gets us up and ready earlier than we would otherwise be and we don’t miss half the day. That bread looks delicious, I love home made bread but don’t make it as often as I should.

  4. A most enjoyable post to read and check out the various links!
    I’ll find our horticultural society show schedule to see what we do then let you know.
    That’s a terrific selection of birds, especially the jackdaw.

    • Hi Flighty, we don’t see Jackdaws very often now since our neighbour cut down a row of overgrown Leylandii but we now have a view in that direction which is nice! I couldn’t believe the amount of small birds feeding on the Japonica flowers. If you have any show class advice let me know.

  5. Thank you, I now have that song running round and round my head!! However, bread looks grand and who wouldn’t vote for the Severn? Its stunning. There again, I’m a local.

Leave a Reply

