Every Minute of Every Hour “I Love a Sunflower”

In a bid for early flowers I sowed my first sunflower seeds this morning. And it reminded me of a lyric in the late 80s Tears for Fears song ‘Sowing the Seeds of Love’ which seemed appropriate for this time of year as we enter March and a frenzy of sowing activity. That song also included a rant against Margaret Thatcher, ‘politician granny’;by that time the gloss had well and truly come off her leadership with the Poll Tax. We’ve come full circle politically again as we do in gardening every year.

So what’s happening on the Two Chances Veg Plot at the end of February? Well on the plot I’m still harvesting leeks and parsnips with PSB eagerly anticpated. Parsnips were sown in the pipes last week and the overwintered broad beans and onions are coming on well. Tulips are starting to come through in the tubs and in the flower beds there’s crocuses, daffs and more tulips doing their thing and taking advantage of the mild spell we’ve had recently. In the greenhouse the shallots are starting to sprout and I’ve got a loads of brussel sprout seedlings pricked out into small pots.


Daffodils provided a great display last year, although later than usual. This photo was taken on 10th April, I’m hoping for blooms a couple of weeks earlier, in time for our Spring Show.

Indoors the spuds are chitting nicely and the second batch of broad beans is starting to germinate. On various windowsills a tray of lettuce (Webb’s Wonderful) needs pricking out, tomatoes are poking through and the first true leaves are showing the peppers and chillies. The onions look exactly the same as they did last week and I’ve just sown the first batch of sugar snap peas along with cabbage, early and late purple sprouting broccoli and some asparagus peas.

On the ‘to do’ list this weekend is the mix for the long carrots which I need to get into the pipes and sown. More brassicas to be sown – cauliflower and calabrese which can grow on in the greenhouse. So that’s it you’re up to speed on everything going on!!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

17 responses to “Every Minute of Every Hour “I Love a Sunflower”

  1. Sadly, having put off the greenhouse for another year, I’ve yet to start sowing. I’m figuring on later March to get things underway!

    • I do like having a greenhouse at this time of year, the top level of staging is nearly full already. Hopefully it’ll warm up towards the end of March so we can start sowing direct in the beds.

  2. Isn’t it great to have stuff sprouting again? Love your song choice, btw.

  3. You’ve lots going on, and to to do! I thought for a moment those daffodils were taken this week!
    The plot is still far too wet to do anything so I guess I’ll be spending much of the weekend armchair gardening yet again! Enjoy yours!

    • Nothing wrong with armchair gardening Flighty, it would be nice to have those daffs out now but I think they’re about 3 weeks or so away, something to look forward to.

  4. Damo; Do you always sow PSB at this time of year? I usually sow mine in April. Do you think it is beneficial to sow earlier? I mean, will it crop any earlier?

    • Mark good questions and to be honest I doubt it will make much difference I just tend to sow all my brassicas now as they’ll take the cold to a certain extent and they’ll be underway when I’m moving on to sow more tender veg in a month or so – those that I harvest in summer I’ll repeat sow in small batches every 3 weeks – like caulies, cabbage etc. I do find PSB takes a long time to develop into a decent sized plant so maybe sowing a few weeks earlier will mean it’s got more of a chance surviving a harsh winter.

      • That’s just reminded me I should get some brasicas started in the greenhouse… I was wondering what I could get sown in there while it’s still a tad nippy…. 🙂

  5. You had me there with the daffodil photo too – we have just a couple of mini daffodils open!

  6. I’m looking forward to seeing the daffodils out, I haven’t seen one yet this year. Lots of rain again overnight and this morning which means no allotment gardening. I think I’ll do some sowing this afternoon.

  7. Love sunflowers but slugs always get mine-except for one last year that must have been dropped by a bird-I let it grow(in the strawberry patch-not easy to net!), so think I will try again this year as the soil is obviously to their taste!

  8. Good round-up post 🙂 Makes me feel guilty. It’s been a dreary weekend so the daffs were a welcome sight.

Leave a Reply

