No Room at the Inn

The Two Chances Veg Plot is getting full to bursting at the moment. All the first and second earlies are now out along with the brassicas planted this morning.

The large bed (18ft x 6ft) has overwintered onions, shallots, calabrese, cauliflower, cabbage, celeriac and a couple of rows of Charlotte potatoes.

The medium bed (12ft by 6ft) has parsnips and long carrots in pipes, stump carrots and parsnips sowed direct along with spring onions, spinach, beetroot and mangetout. The small bed (6ft x 6ft) has garlic, broad beans and a trench for runner beans. The beds are surrounded by 20 polypot bags of spuds and a couple of old dustbins with stump carrots. The girls really enjoyed helping me fill up the spud bags!

That’s it really there’s a few spaces for some lettuce and radish but it’s pretty much full up. There is a strip along the back garden fence that will take the dwarf beans and the rest of the brassicas (brussels, swede, sprouting broccoli) will go into the front bed (12ft x 6ft) where there is already a few Autumn fruiting raspberry canes. In the other front garden bed there’s already summer fruiting raspberries, strawberries and a gooseberry and blackcurrant bush but I should be able to squeeze in some courgettes. The tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, chillies and aubergines will go in the greenhouse.

So anything else will be going up to the shared plot in the next village. At the moment that’s maincrop potatoes, sweetcorn, summer and butternut squash. These will join onions, shallots, broad beans, parsnips, carrots, beetroot and cabbage that are already in. Not sure when we’re going to eat all this veg!!

As you can see crop rotation and advanced planning are not my strong points. The crops rotate every year but I don’t follow a strict crop rotation plan I just try and ensure that nothing is grown in the same place for consecutive years.

And we had a bumble bee visitor today.

On Tuesday I went to a talk on bees given by a local bee farmer at our Hampshire NVS DA meeting. It was fascinating stuff, I didn’t realise bees were such a complex subject. Bee pollination supports every third mouthful of food we eat so they are vital to the environment and us. There’s a number of challenges ahead for bee communities under threat but it was good to hear there’s a lot of money going into research at the moment and progress is being made. Fingers crossed they can come up with a solution to the problems.

Anyway time to get back out in the garden. Hope you are all having a good weekend!

27 responses to “No Room at the Inn

  1. Hey, Damoo, you sure are well up to speed this year. I reckon I’m about a week behind you with precious little time over the next week or so.

    • Hi Richard, I’ve managed to get a fair bit done over the last couple of weeks but this time of year it’s easy to catch up as the weather warms. There’s never enough hours in the day though!

  2. Sounds like the situation in your garden is similar to mine – lots more things I want to sow / plant / grow, but so little space left!

    • I tend to go for lots of different things in small quantities and now I have a share of a much bigger area I can put things like potatoes in without worrying about the use of space.

  3. Everything is looking pact mate
    I haven’t really started with much of mine yet, only spuds and roots
    Put a row of beetroot in today and will do a row per week for next 3 weeks but nothing else yet
    All looking good, keep it up

    • Thanks mate. Starting to fill up now, I need to plan ahead for the succession of crops, that’s normally something that catches me out.

  4. OMG, impressive! You’ve done well and been hard at work – I’ve still got to get to grips with quite a bit of my planned veg. And, yes, I expect I’ll be trying to find a bit of spare ground somewhere as I’ve just had some MORE seeds from the Real Seed company! Seriously hope you grow some gi-normously good stuff for showing! Caro xx

    • Thanks Carolyn, fingers crossed for the show bench! But the majority is just the normal stuff which I love growing, a bit of everything we like really. A busy time of year!

  5. It’s all looking and sounding good as always!
    A plot neighbour keeps hives so I’m well aware of the importance of bees and the problems. As you say all highly fascinating.
    Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  6. Just found your blog and think it’s great, you are growing many similar seeds to me this year. I also feel your pain with lack of space, although you have an overflow patch which must be beneficial. I thought maybe it’s a bit early to plant out brassicas, I put a couple of my plot as a test and they look a bit miserable!

    • Hi Josie thanks for stopping by. I sow the brassicas quite early in the cold greenhouse so they are now quite good sized plants. I wanted to get them out as they’ve filled up the 3″ pots and had quite a good rootball on them. Best of luck with your plot, I’m sure the plants will pick up as there’s warmer weather on the way next week.

  7. That’s all looking very good Damo. I’ve got a bit of catching up to do but hopefully with the spate of upcoming bank-holidays I’ll be able to spend a bit more time on the plot.

  8. No matter the size of the garden, it is never big enough. I always want to plant more. The garden here is ever expanding. Oh well, more garden, less mowing.
    Your garden is looking great. You look very organised.
    Bees are interesting. I’m glad in Australia we don’t have as many problems to worry about because of our isolation.

    • You’re right Tracy, there’s never enough room! I’m lucky to have the space I have really. Australia does escape a lot of the problems due to isolation but we touched on the small hive beetle problem which isn’t in the UK (yet). So I suppose everywhere is affected in one way or another.

  9. Good grief, packed indeed! My celeriac is still a bunch of whispy seedlings, will be a while before that gets planted out. I too am wondering where on earth I am going to put some of the stuff I am sowing/growing, but I’m sure it will fit in somewhere. Impressively organised patch Damo. At least your girls know where their food comes from and get to eat a healthy amount of fresh stuff with zero food miles!

    • Thanks Janet, they love playing in the soil and getting dirty and next they’ll be picking their own food which is quite exciting for them!

  10. Jam packed! The other evening I had a mild panic attack about our empty-ish beds until I remembered it was only mid-April 🙂

  11. Those beds are looking good!
    I love the pic of the bee – he looks like a bee trying to be spiderman!
    http://greenfingersmum.blogspot.com

  12. You’re so organised, you’re going to meet yourself coming back. I bet you’re pleased about having the shared patch now, having extra space is great.

  13. You’re so organised, you’re going to meet yourself coming back. I bet you’re glad you’ve got the shared plot now, having extra space is great.

    • Thanks Jo, organised outside only, you should see the state of the garage! The extra space is great, I’ve sown quite a few squash this year as I know I have the room for them now.

  14. We were collared by an RSPB man at a reserve we visited and he was telling us that bumblebees are much better pollinators than honey bees

    WE get lots in our greenhouses that need a helping hand to find the door.

    • I only seem to see them when they’re crawling around on the lawn and the girls want them moved out of the way! Poor things I’m sure they don’t like being picked up but the girls can’t stand any creepy crawlies on the lawn so not much choice if I want a quiet(ish) life!

Leave a Reply

