In the Back of the Onion Bag Son!

I mentioned last year how disastrous my onions were, some not growing at all, and at best golf ball size! So I wanted to make sure I had a few half decent ones this year. I grow the over-wintering type so I popped the Radar sets in during November into a layer of top soil on top of a decent amount of chicken manure and watched them grow slowly. In spring they developed quite quickly and as you can see from the photo they’re already better than last year’s pathetic attempt!

Elsewhere on the plot everything is growing fast with the cabbage, cauliflowers and calabrese almost ready to harvest. The potatoes are in flower, as is the mangetout, broad beans and asparagus peas. The soft fruit is all netted and we are picking a few each day now which is lovely, although I don’t usually get a chance with the strawberries!

Hope you are all having a great weekend.

Harvesting: Lettuce, Rocket, Radish, Broad Beans, Mangetout, Shallot thinnings, Strawberries, Raspberries.

15 responses to “In the Back of the Onion Bag Son!

  1. Richard (Vegblogger)

    Those onions look good to me.

    I failed with some over-wintering onions (Shenshyu) that I started from seed. Seeing yours makes me think I might have a go at few sets this Autumn.

    • They’re not bad as you have something to do in late Autumn and a bit of growth before the worst of the winter. They don’t store as well as spring planted onions but for the small quantity I grow that doesn’t matter. I’ll hopefully get a few nice looking ones that I can enter in the village show.

  2. Damo, how do home-grown onions compare with shop-bought ones, do you think? I have never considered growing onions to be a good use of space because we use so many of them in cooking that I could never grow enough to keep us going for more than a week or two.

    • Hi Mark, I would say they’re not worth growing if you don’t have the space – an onion is an onion taste-wise I think, and they are pretty cheap and readily available in the shops. I just like growing them and I only have 30 or so planted fairly close together so they don’t take up much room.

  3. Looking good Damo I have just harvested my first one at 3.5″
    as the top had fallen over the others are not far behind si I should get a set of nice ones. Take no notice of Richard they havent realised he has escaped yet.He keeps asking me the same questions about overwinter onions. lol.

  4. They look fantastic. Have you been feeding them?

  5. We grow over winter onions too and they are great for putting you on until the main harvest

  6. They look good mate
    I have to add, I am having my best year with onions also
    I was advised to plant them on a good bed of manure and it has worked

  7. They’re looking great. You’ve definitely done something right.

  8. They’re certainly looking okay this year, and it sounds like everything else is doing well!

Leave a Reply

