Statto!

I’m not much of a geek but I do like a good stat now and again. So I took notice this year when the Annual Report from WordPress came along and here are the facts and figures for the Two Chances Veg Plot Blog.

This blog was viewed about 31,000 times in 2011 (compared to 13,000 in 2010). In 2011, there were 64 new posts (compared to 137 posts in 2010), growing the total archive of this blog to 211 posts. There were 206 pictures uploaded (compared to 561 the year before). So I’ve written less than half the posts I wrote in 2010 and had almost three times the number of visitors, obviously it’s not all about quantity!

The busiest day of the year was March 22nd with 205 views. In 2010 it was 137 views on December 19th.

Thanks to the top referring sites in 2011 who were:

twochancesvegplot.co.uk
ukveggardeners.com
vegpatchblog.blogspot.com
glallotments.blogspot.com
theidiotgardener.blogspot.com

Some visitors came searching, mostly for sweet peas, hunter thompson, two chances veg plot, celery, and snow. In 2010 sweet peas, big flower pots, flower, cauliflower, and gladioli were the most popular search words.

Visitors came from round the world including Trinidad & Tobago, Peru, Sudan and Northern Mariana (I had to look that one up they are a group of islands in Micronesia).

My posts may have longevity as 4 out of the 5 most viewed posts in 2011 were actually posted in 2010 (2 as far back as March 2010).

So there you go, does it mean anything? No of course not, it’s just a few stats.

That was 2011 and roll on 2012! Happy New Year everyone!

11 responses to “Statto!

  1. Isobel McAllister

    All the best for 2012

  2. Glad to see you don’t take it all too seriously Damo! Although verrrry interesting to see what the top referring sites are – good old UK Veg gardeners, eh? (That’s how I found your blog!) Wishing you all the best for 2012, will be reading your championship growing with interest! Caro x

  3. Wow – great year! Hope 2012 is just as successful for you on and off line. 🙂

  4. Glad to send people along to you Damo. I often peek at my stats but I haven’t looked quite as closely as you. I wonder if post views are cumulative as if so the older posts are always going to have the most views having been online the longest but as you say it proves people go to them ‘after the event’!

    • Thanks Is and all the best to you too!

      Caro, UKVG is a good forum and I wasn’t surprised to see people finding my blog through there. All the best for 2012!

      Thanks Liz, I’m sure 2012 will be a good year.

      Thanks Sue I don’t look very closely through the year but when the auto-email from WordPress landed I thought I’d take a look and remembered I’d saved the previous years email as well. It was interesting to see people still looking at old posts, you’re right posts that have been there the whole year have the most chance of being the highest viewed posts of that year but to have a post I wrote in March 2010 being my most visited post in 2011 as well was a bit of surprise!

  5. Happy new year SADDO
    sorry Damo

  6. It’s interesting to see how people found your blog. All the very best for 2012.

  7. Always enjoy your blog Damo and look forward to progress reports for the expanding empire!

Leave a Reply

