Chitting

With the plot frozen solid I’ve been a little bit stuck for jobs to do over the last couple of weeks so it was an ideal opportunity to set the seed potatoes out to to chit in the cold conservatory (last year I started them 3 weeks earlier). It’s great to think that in a few months time they’ll be providing endless meals for us.

The main varieties I’ve gone for this year are Casablanca, Kestrel and Bonnie. I’m hoping to have a few to select for the show bench but they’re also good eaters. Also there’s a few tubers of Arran Pilot, Pink Fir Apple, Lady Christl, Charlotte and a couple of Salad Blues to try out. Hopefully a good selection, time will tell having only grown Kestrel, Charlotte and Lady Christl before. They were all purchased at the Hampshire Potato Day from a huge selection of seed potatoes on offer.

I’m hoping the weather will turn mild again in the next couple of weeks so I can get the parsnips underway followed by the long carrots. I’m sitting on my hands as far as seed sowing is concerned and no doubt March will be a frenzy of activity on that front. In previous years I would have sowed a fair amount already but I’m learning to be patient. Fingers crossed for a nice, mild spring!

13 responses to “Chitting

  1. We’ve added Casablanca to our collection too.

    The potatoes have temporarily been moved out of the greenhouse due to really low temperatures but is that snow there now. You seem to have had more than we have.

    • Hi Sue yes that’s today’s photo and snow still covering most of the ground, just been too cold here to shift it. One of the few days in recent years were I’ve only managed 20 minutes outside as it’s too cold!

  2. I know what you mean, Damo. I’m sitting here feeling frustrated at not being able to sow or plant anything yet. In desperation I have today sown some cress and basil for use as microgreens (indoors, on a windowsill of course).

  3. I grew Arran Pilot last year and was impressed with them so I’m growing them again this year. Hope they do well for you too.

  4. Pauls allotment blog

    Damo I am also holding off a bit lkonger before sowing I have however sown some spring cabbage and some chillies but nothing else yet

    • I haven’t sown any chillies this year as I have two carrier bag fulls of them in the freezer. May see what plants I can pick up cheap later on.

  5. I’m still waiting for my seed potatoes to arrive, wish they would hurry up – I want egg boxes on my window-sills like everyone else!!

  6. Wow that’s some amount of spuds. I’ve got some Charlotte’s chitting at the moment. Its much milder today so I’m hoping I can get up to the plot this week. I sowed some broad beans last week but I’m getting really restless at the moment. Hopefully Spring is too far away.

  7. Damo, you are not on your own with the cold weather . Can you tell me ware i can get some of this globo warming weather. David cameron want give me an answer.

  8. Now that is a nice looking collection of potatoes chitting away! I’m impressed at your patience, it gets hard at this time of year, you know it makes sense to wait a while, but the itch to get sowing just keeps getting worse…

    • Alison – hope they arrive soon!

      Wellywoman – thankfully milder weather has returned so I can get on with some jobs around the plot.

      Geoff – I know so much for warmer winters!

      Janet – not much longer now as I need to sow some things in the next couple of weeks for the main show at the end of July.

Leave a Reply

