First Caulie

I was up at the shared plot this morning getting the rest of my potatoes in, Casablanca, Kestrel and Bonnie. about 60 in 5 rows around 2ft apart so there’s plenty of room to earth up as they grow. Also planted a double row of broad beans to complement those I put in at the alloment last week.

Looking around the plot I noticed that the row of overwintered caulies were starting to heart up and I took one home for dinner. There’s about 20 which should all grow ready for harvesting in the next few weeks. It’s a great time to have caulies to eat in the typical ‘hungry gap’ at this time of year. The pigeons don’t seem to bother with the mature plants and we’re a few months away from the worst of the cabbage whites plus we’re not quite on the salad meals of high summer. So they are a very welcome crop indeed!

This afternoon I’ll be out in the garden with the children getting a few jobs done when I can making the most of a dry day. Hope you all have a great weekend!

13 responses to “First Caulie

  1. That looks a very “professional” Cauli. If you’re going to have 20 like that you maybe need to investigate making Piccallili.

  2. Looks really good mate
    What variety is it?
    How did the spuds in the bags go ?

    • Thanks Darren, I’ve got no idea what variety it is as my friend has a tin with numerous seed packets and I just put in one long row of caulies in between cabbages and brussels. They’re all gone now with just the caulies left. Managed to get 15 bags done with the mix and another 29 done with various mixes of compost/soil/fertiliser. There’s also about 60 spuds in the shared plot and another 50 at the allotment. Shouldn’t run out of spuds this year!

  3. What a treat – I love caulis

  4. That looks great, lovely white curds. I’ve only grown caulis once, the family aren’t struck on them so I don’t bother. They don’t know what they’re missing.

  5. WOW! you ate that!! I think if I had been able to grow one as beautiful as that I would have is coated in resin and used as a sculpture in the house! Holy moly – our first attempt was out last, don’t ask, it still brings tears xx

  6. I’ve got loads of caulis coming as well – my perennial caulis are hearting up, luckily at different rates otherwise it would be my main meal for the next month! Have you got a good recipe for piccalilli and other cauli recipes?

    • Sue – I do too, a lovely treat.

      Jo – I know a much maligned veg.

      Carrie – I know I was quite impressed myself but hungry hence no lasting memorial. I’d like to say it was only due to my close care and attention but you’d know I was fibbing. Apart from keeping the cabbage whites off them until the cold weather I haven’t looked at them since November!

      Caro – I don’t but I’m sure Mark has on his blog. I will be plundering the recipe books soon!

  7. Hi Damo could you please e-mail me your address as I can’t find it. I have the Pink Giraffe sorted out and ready to send to you.

    The cauli looks brilliant.

  8. Not sure how I feel about cauliflower; didn’t put in on my list, and it seems as if I’m running out of space at the field. I overdid the spuds and onions (a couple of hundren of each)! I’m building a new bed in the garden this weekend, so I might try to fit a few in just to see how I get on with them. I suppose they like a lot of room like cabbages?

  9. Hi Damo,

    Great blog and I love your first cauli photo!

    You should enter it in the Furniture Village ‘Great Garden Moments’ photo competition. Or perhaps, another picture that you might not have used yet…

    There’s a great prize for the winner:

    A new set of garden furniture (worth £1,209) and £250 of Waitrose vouchers.

    All the competition details can be found here: http://www.furniturevillage.co.uk/Competitions/Great-Garden-Moments.aspx

    I hope you enter and keep making the most of your garden this summer!

    Kind regards,
    Eshé Brown

Leave a Reply

