I get by with a little help from my friends

One of my favourite songs and very applicable to anyone attempting to grow veg for showing. Most of my veg growing is for the table but I do have a few plans for showing some of the veg this summer, hopefully at the NVS Southern Championship at the New Forest Show at the end of July (here’s what I’m aiming for!). Most people growing veg for show rely on a little help from their friends from time to time. Be it seeds, a few plants or some advice and guidance.

This morning I planted 7 Green Ramco cabbages from friend Darren after my sowings had been slow to grow on. I’ll pass mine back to Darren for the NVS Hampshire DA plant sale on 12th May which I can’t attend as I’ll be at my neice’s baptism.

I’ve also been kindly given some long carrot seeds from former National Champion Bob Brown and much advice from him and Darren along the way. Now I’m only dabbling really compared to others who have expert set ups and lots of time and dedication to devote to the pastime. But without the help of friends I wouldn’t have a chance. And that’s what it’s all about for me.

6 responses to “I get by with a little help from my friends

  1. I think gardening in general is like that, produce being swapped between each other, lots of advice passed on and helping each other out with things such as watering when you go on holiday. It’s a very sociable passtime.

  2. Do you think growing vegetables for show is a male thing or do you have female entrants?

    • Jo – it is very social that’s one of the reasons I like it.

      Sue – it’s not exclusively male, Sherie Plumb is one of the top showers who dominates the potato, runner bean and cauliflower classes each year at the highest level. And there are more female showers coming through all the time.

  3. There’s a champion, lady, Mushroom grower in Middlesex.
    UK VEG.

  4. I’m buggered if I can get anything to germinate at the moment. I can’t think it’ll be anything other than the constant rain, but nothing is happening. The Oxted and Edenbrige show is at the end of August, but I might not have anything other than a few seedlings by then!

Leave a Reply

