Allotment Beans

I finally got up to the allotment this morning making the most of a gap between downpours. With our holiday in France it’s about a month since I’ve been and the weeds were well on their way to swamping parts of the plot. I had the girls with me so it was a quick visit just pulling up the larger weeds particularly around the broad beans which were ready for harvesting. I couldn’t believe the amount of slugs and snails, I suppose with all the rain we’ve been having and the overgrown state of the plot it’s inevitable but it still took me by surprise as I don’t really see many on the plot at home. I think a combination of good plot hygiene and the frogs from next door’s pond provides a relatively slug and snail free environment. And any that do make it onto the plot are shown no mercy! I haven’t used pellets on the allotment but I think I will next year.

We came back from the allotment with a bag full of broad beans and a few sticks of rhubarb. The sweetcorn was doing well, a bit short but there were quite a few cobs forming. Back at home there’s plenty of soft fruit, mangetout, calabrese and brokali to keep us going with everything else poised to be ready for the end of the month. All we need now is some decent sun to warm everything up a bit!

5 responses to “Allotment Beans

  1. Everyone is suffering from slugs and snails this year – even with a pond full of frogs and hedgehogs we still get them in the gardn.

  2. I’ve just posted about my own slug and snail problems. The numbers are incredible this year but to be expected with the weather we’ve had. All the rain has made it difficult to keep on top of weeds too. Just not enough dry spells to get everything done. Still, at least you’re harvest is looking good.

  3. I think my broad beans will be ready for harvesting, if only I could get to the allotment. It’s raining again!

  4. I’ve been picking broad beans. My allotment site is waterlogged.
    I’ve never known a year as bad as this for slugs and snails, but of course conditions have been ideal for them.
    All in all it’s been a really difficult year so little wonder people have lost interest.

  5. It’s definitely a year for making the most of the gaps between downpours. We had a rare dry morning here in London and, infuriatingly, I was working. I’m thinking of snapping up a polytunnel in the sales this year… Meantime, I’ve had some lovely broad beans and PSB but once those have gone, there’ll be a mid-season hungry gap!

Leave a Reply

