Seed Potatoes

I helped out on the Hampshire DA NVS stand at the Hampshire Potato Day in Whitchurch today.  We had a really good day selling merchandise, seeds and plants plus quite a few tickets for our vegetable growing seminar in March (more on that in a later post).  The organisers said the numbers were way down this year which is a shame, I guess this may be a result of the poor growing conditions last year, but there was still around 1200 people through the doors over the two days.

Seed Potatoes

This year’s purchases were first early Winston, second early Kestrel and main crop Amour. With a bag of Charlotte and a few Red Emmalie (red flesh), a bag of onions sets (Stuggart Giant), Broad Bean seeds (Longfellow – reselected by our Chairman) Dwarf Bean Prince and Pea Show Perfection.

Thankfully all the snow has gone now. This is what it was like last Friday in the village.

Village snow

Next job is to set the potatoes out to chit and then start shredding the 8 75-litre bags of F2S compost I have. Early season preparations are now well and truly underway!!

10 responses to “Seed Potatoes

  1. Well organised as ever, Damo. I’m still awaiting delivery of my mail-order spuds. Should have joined you at Whitchurch, I suppose…

    • Thanks Mark I guess it’s a bit further for you, about 25 miles for me and I’m there all day helping out. It’s great to see all the different varieties there are so many that I’ve never heard of!

  2. I think you had more snow than we did. Our potatoes are ordered – don’t really want them to arrive just yet

    • The roads were the worst I’ve seen them since we moved down here 20 odd years ago. And the snow has flattened my mesh tunnels so a bit of rebuilding work is needed.

  3. It’s a shame that numbers were down, I’ve heard lots of people mention that they’re giving up growing potatoes after suffering blight and pests for the last couple of years. My potatoes are on order, I’ve gone for Arran Pilot again this year, though I couldn’t resist trying Anya when I saw a small pack for sale in Wilkinsons.

  4. I’ve just left a comment but it’s disappeared so I don’t think it’s gone through. I was saying that it’s a shame that numbers were down, but I’ve heard a few people mention that they’re giving up growing potatoes after suffering with blight and pests over the last couple of years. My potatoes are on order, I’ve gone for Arran Pilot again, though I couldn’t resist picking up a small bag of Anya when I saw them for sale in Wilkinsons.

  5. And there you go, there’s now two comments posted, lol.

  6. I liked Kestrel when I grew it at the plot. No room for potatoes here though.

Leave a Reply

