Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas everyone!  It’s been a while since I’ve posted after finishing the re-vamped veg beds in the back garden in October.  It’s been a busy couple of months since then but not much happening on the Two Chances Plot to report.

Today saw the traditional “Christmas leek lift” to go along with the leftover turkey in this lovely pie that we make every year.

DSCN5001

The leeks were planted quite late so weren’t huge but they’ll taste great all the same.  They’re the only veg left on the plot with just potatoes, beetroot and a couple of pumpkins in store now – and some bags of French and Broad Beans in the freezer along with a few hundred chillies!

It’s been another fantastic year on the plot with loads of superb veg for the family.  My most successful show year as well taking my first top-level NVS red cards at the Southern Branch Championship staged at the New Forest Show back in July.  I finished off with Best in Show at my local NVS DA show in September.

Away from the plot I’ve also enjoyed some hill walking, long cycle rides and charity fund raising for Southampton General Hospital’s Friends of PICU.

What will 2016 bring?  More of the same on the veg plot – I’m looking forward to using the new raised beds and finishing off the back garden.  I’m sure I’ll be at a couple of shows again.  We’ll continue our Ridgeway walk and I’ll be fundraising again possibly with a run & bike challenge in July.  And lastly I’ll be looking for a new job sometime in 2016 after 17 years with my current employer so another challenge to add to my list!

Whatever you decide to do next year I hope it’s a fruitful one for you!

 

 

2 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. Isobel McAllister

    All the best Damo, for you and yours, in the year to come. X

  2. And to you Is all the best for the New Year.

Leave a Reply

