All systems go!

With milder weather forecast for the next few days I decided to get started and sow my long and stump carrots. Earlier than I would sow normally as they’re for the New Forest Show at the end of July.

And there’s added interest this year as the long carrots are my own re-selected seed strain from a set of 3 carrots I put to seed two years ago.

DSCN5145

The seeds in the photo are just from the central seed head of one the carrots.  There’s 100s, enough to keep me going for years.

DSCN5143

I followed the same approach as last year coring out 16 holes in the sand box, filling with the compost mix and sowing 5 seeds in each one.

DSCN5144

Then covered with fleece and clear polythene to keep them all wrapped up until the seeds germinate.  The other box is for parsnips sown 3 weeks ago which should be coming through soon hopefully.  They normally germinate in 3-4 weeks taking much longer than the carrots.

DSCN5147

The stump carrots were sown in one of the new beds I put together last Autumn.  It’s a 6 foot by 2 foot bed filled with grit sand – half way along the bed I’ve run some threaded bar across to stop them bowing with the weight of the sand.  In this sized bed I can get 27 stations in.  Each one is cored out to 16 inches deep and the variety I’m sowing is Sweet Candle.  I’ve struggled to get decent short carrots before and I’m hoping this approach will prove successful.  As with the longs the bed is covered with fleece and polythene.  I have a small mesh tunnel to put over the bed once the polythene comes off to keep the carrot fly at bay.

So it’s all systems go on the plot and hopefully a few days of milder weather will see the carrots germinate in the next couple of weeks.  From now on it starts to get busy with sowing starting with tomatoes / chillies etc.  The potatoes are chitting indoors on south facing windowsills and will be started off towards the end of March.  Lots to do!!

 

3 responses to “All systems go!

  1. The threaded bar reinforcement sounds like a good idea. I hope my new raised beds don’t warp like the previous (flimsier) ones have done. BTW, I love the phrase “putting to seed”. It sounds like “putting out to stud”, as you might do with a horse!

    • I’ve only used the bar on the carrot bed as it’s full of sand. The timbers are much thicker than the previous gravel boards I’ve used so I’m hoping to get a good few years out of them. I like your reference to “putting out to stud” as they are thoroughbred carrots!!

  2. Good luck with the carrots for the show.

Leave a Reply

