What’s up Doc?

Not a lot on the carrot front, Bugs wouldn’t be too impressed. Saying that these are the best carrots I’ve ever grown, they have the length, between 6 an 10 inches but they’re a bit thin. It doesn’t look good for my long carrot experiment that I sowed in mid-March. So what’s the deal with growing carrots? Should I have waited longer, they were sown ages ago. Or is it because they are grown in containers? Anyone had a better result?

15 responses to “What’s up Doc?

  1. Oh we’re only taking little thinings out at the moment, ours a long way to go! Have you lifted them early petal?

    • Hi Carrie, I sowed them about 15 -16 weeks ago so expected a bit better by now, will leave them for another month or so and see how they go. You never know I may get a decent carrot one day!

  2. When you find the answer, let me know. I’ll give you a laugh when I post on carrots.

    While you’ve been away the garden’s been growing away, but you’re still on top of the weeds. How do you do it?

    Interested that you’re growing orach up a wigwam. I love the appearance of this plant but have only come across it mentioned as a substitute for spinach(?)! (Some seedlings have appeared in my plot blown in the wind.)

  3. Hi Mal, yes it’s the veg growers equivalent of “what’s the meaning of life” I think, one of those questions you can’t answer, growing carrots is one of lifes mysteries!

    I’m on top of the weeds as everything is packed in so tight they don’t get a chance to grow, through lack of space I tend to plant closer than I should.

    The orach is next to the sweet pea wigwams, I think I planted it a bit too close again not appreciating its size (it’s pushing 8 foot high now). Maureen said you can use it as spinach, I haven’t tried it yet. Just love the depth of colour it gives, sets off the sweet pea flowers perfectly, more luck than garden design though!

  4. Our carrots are container grown too sown on 21 March – Early Nantes. We started them in the greenhouse and then moved them out – they aren’t thin but not very long – they were grown in troughs so couldn’t really grow long. My next post will have a photo of them

    • Hi Sue, sounds like you’re very similar, I may have sown mine a week or so later but started them in containers in the greenhouse too. I’m going to leave them for a while. Best of luck with yours!

  5. I haen’teven looked at my carrots yet. Is it time, or should I ignore them for a bit longer?

    I did pull a few Mooli last night for a Vietnamese pork claypot, and they were around 8 inches (excluding the thin rooty tapered bit).

    • IG I’d ignore them a while longer, I’m learning fast that neglect / ignorance is often a good approach when growing veg. The Mooli sound great, never grown them myself, and dinner round your house sounds a lot more exotic than ours!

  6. They’re better than any I’ve ever grown. I must admit, I’ve given them a miss this year, but I’ll be giving them another go next year.

    • Hi Jo, I’ve got to say they’re my best in 3 attempts so I’m progressing. And they taste great, better than any supermarket carrot by a mile which, in the end, is what it’s all about.

  7. They certainly look okay, and of course it’s the taste that’s all important!
    It seems that many of us, me included, have problems growing decent carrots. I was advised to go for the shorter varieties as I grow them in the ground rather than in containers. I also seem to never end up growing enough!

    • Flighty they taste great so I’m a happy camper really, just never quite satisfied I suppose, must learn to celebrate rather than want more all the time! I’ll have a crack at the round or stump varieties next time. With regards to quantity I have nowhere near enough room hence the containers, a small field is required for carrots really.

  8. Dear Damo, maybe if you take out alternate ones and leave the rest a bit longer they’ll have the space to thicken up?

  9. Pingback: My Arch Nemisis Defeated? « Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Leave a comment